The helpline is open from 10:00 to 16:30 Monday to Friday (excluding bank holidays)

Exit the site

How to remove outdated content on Google

Removal of outdated content on Google

Why might you need to do this?

You may need to undertake this additional step if your content has been removed from the website in question but when you Google search your name; the content still appears within the search results. This is because Google’s search engine may still show the content when it is outdated and needs to be informed of the content so the server cache can be cleared.

How can you do this?

Head to theGoogle Outdated Contentpage to remove

Enter the URL (the link address) of the page you would like to be removed

Select request removal

You may see the message “This content is no longer live on the website” which means the item has been successfully removed from the original website. You can then request the removal.

You may otherwise see the message"We think the image or web page you're trying to remove hasn't been removed by the site owner", in which case follow the on screen steps to provide Google with further information. Additionally contact us, and we will see if the web page is still active and re-report the content.

I’ve tried to remove it and the content is still there, what do I do?

We understand that this is very distressing, especially if the name and/or details reflect the content containing your sensitive images, but now contains content from someone else. Sometimes, when the image is removed, the website replaces it with something completely different and so the link can’t be removed because the tool doesn’t recognise that the content has been removed.

Can I be updated on the progress of the removal?

Yes. You can check the status of your request on theRemove outdated content page.

Back to Blog

Related Articles